What is it?

The John Muir Award is a national environmental award. It encourages people to connect with, enjoy and care for wild places. It encourages awareness and responsibility for the natural environment, in a spirit of fun, adventure and exploration. The Award is open to all and is run by the John Muir Trust.

John Muir
National awards

What does it involve?

To achieve a John Muir Award everyone taking part needs to complete four challenges:

  • Discover a wild place
  • Explore its wildness
  • Conserve – take personal responsibility
  • Share experiences

There are 3 levels of the Award, encouraging a progressive involvement. The same 4 challenges are repeated for each level, with increased involvement in time, activity and ownership.

  • Discovery Award (introductory level) minimum 4 days
  • Explorer Award (intermediate level) minimum 8 days
  • Conserver Award (advanced level) minimum 20 days over 6 months

Achieve your John Muir Discovery Award with VICTA…

We are delighted to be working in partnership with the John Muir Trust and have a number of expeditions this year in great locations with some fun outdoor activities that promote the values of the Award. Completion of the Award looks good on a CV and in job applications: all participants are awarded and receive a certificate.

Sign Up

Sign up for email updates

Sign up and we will notify you when new activities are open for application!
Sign Up